Sports

Raptors’ Birch recovering from knee surgery, expects to be ready for training camp


Toronto Raptors centre Khem Birch is recovering from knee surgery he underwent earlier in the off-season and is expected to be ready for training camp.

Birch had arthroscopic surgery to clean up loose debris in his right knee after playing just 55 games for Toronto during the 2021-22 campaign, averaging 4.5 points and 4.3 rebounds per game.

The 29-year-old from Montreal is currently in Victoria with the Canadian senior men’s national team, as he was one of the 14 players committed to the organization for the next three years, though he has not been able to play due to his injury.

Canada is preparing for the fourth window of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 Americas Qualifiers after going 6-0 throughout the first three windows.

Shai-Gilgeous Alexander, Dwight Powell and Kelly Olynyk are just a few of the NBA talents who have also committed to playing for Canada this summer and helped the team win both of their games during the July window of play.

Joining Birch is Jamal Murray, RJ Barrett, Dillon Brooks and Luguentz Dort in attendance at camp, and all have committed to the senior national program but will not be participating in the fourth window of qualifying.

Canada will face Argentina on Aug. 25 (10:40 p.m. ET / 7:40 p.m. PT) at Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre in Victoria before travelling to Panama for a matchup on Aug. 29 (8:10 p.m. ET / 5:10 p.m. PT), live on Sportsnet.





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.